top of page
Featured Posts

Bush Stone Curlew's


Tonight I'm writing my first blog for this website and so I thought I would start with something totally familiar to me. Hence, let me introduce you to a local Townsville celebrity Mr. Bush Stone Curlew. As with most Aussies we like to shorten things, these guys are more commonly known simply as 'Curlews'. Southerners occassionally call them 'Thick Knees'....because they do. I don't know for certain if his heritage goes back to the dinosaur's around this area, but I suspect it does.

The traditional land owners from this area, the Wulgurukaba and the Bindal people are known to have beleived that if one of these wondrous birds were to pay a call to your gate or door and call out twice, it was to warn that there would be a death in the family.

I can cheerfully tell you, that even though these guys being well populated in this area and sociable enough to visit my back door quite frequently, I've never actually been aware of a death occurring. These photos were taken at the Townsville Golf Course. There would be at least 30 there every time I go to visit. They tend to live underneath the bushy foliage and though I worry sometimes about the amount of golf balls flying around their environment, they seem to manage just fine. I hope you enjoy the photos and my very first blog. I'll try again tomorrow night. Before I go, I'd just like to dedicate this first blog to my dear friend Jane D'Angelo who encouraged me to do it. If you're looking for crystals, oracle cards or magic in general, please check out her shop:- Heaven's Doorway 263 Charters Towers Road Mysterton.. Your nuts if you don't. Cheers til tomorrow. Evie.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page